Who We Are

Who are we? First and foremost we are members, supporters and subscribers of the Centre for Radical Christianity. Over the years we have made contact with many people who support our events. Some of them pay an annual fee and become members.  Members elect the Centre for Radical Christianity (CRC) Council and so have a say in how we run CRC. With this new website we hope to build an online community where some supporters join us as subscribers to the website, so they can try us out and decide whether to become a member.

CRC has a governing council of up to 14 people. The membership elect CRC Council at its AGM in the autumn each year. We welcome new nominations to the council which meets about four times a year. We meet at St Mark’s Church in Sheffield to plan CRC’s exciting programme of conferences and discuss the issues of the day. We are an ecumenical organisation and our council membership reflects this.

CRC Officers 2013-2014 Executive Committee

Revd Ian Wallis             Chairperson

Helen Fisher                       Acting Chairperson

John Schofield                    Deputy acting chairperson

Jane Padget                         Secretary

Robin Saunders                  Treasurer

John Simmonds                 Newsletter Editor

Maureen Bownas               Librarian

Other Council Members

Yasmin Donlon

Revd Sue Hobley

Roger Lasko

Chris Sissons

Robin Story CRC representative on the committee of The Progressive Christianity Network (PCN)

Anne Padget CRC Administrator working from St Mark’s Office in Broomhill, Sheffield


Revd. Dr. John Vincent, former President of the Methodist Conference and former Director of the Urban Theology Unit in Sheffield

Marcus Borg 2011

Marcus Borg 2011

Professor Marcus Borg, Hundere Distinguished Professor of Theology and Culture at Oregon State University.